What’s a macro?

Macros, calories, measuring cups, and tupperware have now become my best friends. When I first started my fitness journey, I had NO CLUE how to measure my food or how to meal prep. To be honest, I kind of just winged it the first time I tried to meal prep. I was intimidated by all the food I needed to prepare and not really sure where to start, but I just started and that’s what counted.

For those of you who are still learning how to count macros/measure food/etc. my advice to you is to just TRY! (: Your macros (macronutrients) consist of Carbs, Protein & Fat. These are your essential nutrients that you should be mindful of everyday. I follow a macro ratio of 40% Carbs, 30% Protein, & 30% Fat. I LOVE the app “Lifsum” that tracks my food, my workouts, and connects to my iWatch. There are plenty of apps out there to track your food intake and as long as your know how many calories you are supposed to eat in a  day (based on your goals) and your macro ratios, the rest will fall into place.

I’ve found that knowing the nutrients that you are putting into your body is actually more important than your workouts!

“Abs are made in the kitchen”

This quote right here is indeed 100% true. Your body will reflect what you put into it on the outside. If you are eating crappy foods your body will show that in the mirror. We must NOURISH our bodies and fill them with foods that will FUEL it to accomplish our goals. This fitness lifestyle has more so become about me loving my body and that means feeding it right, treating it right and in return I wake up feeling energized & inspired to keep reaching for my goals in all aspects of life.

Now you don’t have to go crazy and track every single morsel that passes your mouth. That’s not what I’m saying. It’s all about being more conscious of what you’re putting into your body and loving yourself enough to want to fuel it to do amazing things.

Ps. It is also important to remember the 80/20 rule I have talked about in my past blog post when it comes to counting macros & calories. 1-2 cheat meals a week will not make your body change drastically and balance is ALWAYS key!

That’s all for now (:

XOXO Ashley

Leave a Reply

